LUSH VALLEY


Happiness Think Tank – Notes by talyarden
May 9, 2010, 8:31 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

Is happiness influence by astrology , temperament?  Is it possible for all to be happy? (pt. 1)

It’s different than everyone deserves to be happy

But some people seem to choose to be unhappy so does that make them happy

When people are aligned with their temperament  they seem happy

I think in astrology it works that way

Some people need flexibility some need confinement

Trusting your idea of yourself

I’m flexible and very happy but others need structure to be happy

Self knowledge and trust in self knowledge seems important

I’m too old to worry about what my parents think.  I think it relates to contentment.

I went to a high powered school you had show you were professional and driven but as the years go by I don’t care how people judge me and I have become more relaxed and happier.

I have stereotypical ideas based on astrology.

I work with kids a lot and if they have ADD or dyslexia, you hope the teacher will recognize that but often they won’t because they have so many students and then there are these really unhappy kids  because they don’t fit in

Does fitting in matter – does everyone need to fit in?

Is my happiness my decision or is it affected by fate or outside forces like astrology what if I am born with bad sign alignment

It may be up to how people use that at as a filter how do they interpret those signs and use them.

Everyone experiences the same weather but they can feel very differently about based on their own choices.

In an imaginary world where people have all the tools to be happy would they be.

I think its up to people choices – my father in law who is in an unhappy marriage  bad job he hatred but made a choice to be stoic and live through adversity.  But his face will suddenly break into happiness because he discovers a cool gadget

There is a big industry promoting happiness, priests, rabbis, therapists etc.  I seems like there is a notion in our species that we can all be happy or at least should strive for it.

I think that some people just have a harder time it could be chemical they may not know what happiness is or can be o=r they don’t have certain kind off resources.

I think people get into patterns some people want to be right more, or be a victim than want to be happy.  Some people go through lots of adversity and then decide to be happy

Why is it in the declaration – to pursue happiness does that suggest we should all try to be happy.

I think the word can be commandeered by different groups.  The freedom to pursue happiness.  The capitalist can use that as a code word for making money and having success.  But the socialites my say its about the most happiness for the most people

It brings a level of hope because it means we have the right to choose what makes us happy

Happiness vs. property, having things

Happiness for me is about community and connections.

Does it matter that your community friends are happy for your happiness

It matters to me in terms of proximity and closeness.

I absorb people’s moods and it affects me.

I am a deflector of others moods.

So you need to learn who you are so that you have the tools how to be happy

I think you have to take happiness where you find it.  I chose to leave people who made me unhappy, family.  So I can have more control.

My mother seems unhappy because she likes to complain but actually she’s happy complaining – narrating her life.

Do you think some people are more equipped to be happy?

Yes chemistry, astrology.  Some signs are bold enough to break up a bad relationship or ask for the raise.  The first hurdle is being able to choose what makes you happy.  If you’re a thinking person yes.  For some people ignorance is bliss.

Do you thin k selfish people are happier.  Yes if they are less concerned with other peoples happiness. They may not compromise themselves so they are happier.  Or they have specific goals to pursue.

I think we have too much free time.  So we think too much about whether we can be happy.

When you camp and have no appliances but just simple choices it’s easier to be happy.

Discussion about TV.  Having it vs. not.

If you have too many choices – that can make you unhappy.  In school they said I could be anything I wanted and I resented that.  I wanted a direction.

Do you need unhappiness?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

